• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pitbull88

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 12, 2011
    West Lafayette, IN
    Have a chance to get a field grade SA garand or a service grade H&A garand. I want the springfield name, and it may have seen battle and/or WWII era. But is it worth the lower grade? Any experience with field grade and what to expect? What would you do if you were me?

Mosinguy

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Feb 27, 2011
    North Dakota soon...
    From what I have heard, all Garands coming from the CMP right now are in really good condition no matter what. I have no experience to back up that statement, just what I've read and heard over the last year or so.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    I have a field grade and my brother has a few service grades. Both function fine and are very accurate, the only difference is the finish. But the field grade can have more wear in the barrel. I suggest getting a throat erosion gauge.

Shootin'IN

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2010
    S.W. Indiana
    A buddy of mine bought one of the lower grade garands from CMP it came with mis-matched wood with some dings & scratches. But it was still very useable & accurate.
    So if you are just looking for a shooter the lower grades would be good to go.
    If you are wanting an investment, collection, or a heirloom gun the higher grade would be better. Remember these guns won't be around forever when they start to run out the price will go up.

DragonGunner

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 14, 2010
    N. Central IN