• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GingerGlockGirl

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 1, 2013
    As I very eargerly await my permit, I am starting to do a lot of research on what type of holster would work best for me. I am an EMT by day, and on my days off you can most likely find me in jeans. I have heard things about the Smart Carry or lots of different IWB holsters. I will be carrying a Glock 26. What has worked well and what has not worked so well?

Thanks!

rgrimm01

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 4, 2011
    Sullivan County, IN
    Choosing a holster tends to be a personal preference thing. It would be like picking out shoes or a tie for someone else. For instance, I prefer leather OWB. This may or may not appeal or work for you.

I would suggest putting yourself in a situation/place where you can try on or borrow a holster for a time to decide what you prefer or feels the best for you.

I tend to read beaucoup reviews to see if I can detect a negative or defect inherent in the design or workmanship that would be a deal breaker. Anything else is personal preference.

nad63

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 3, 2011
    There is no single answer to this one.
    You will likely end up with multiple holsters to cover a variety of carry situations and needs. Carrying OWB is probably the most comfortable and distributes the weight of the weapon well/evenly. A great choice for the range too but difficult to conceal in the summer or with minimal clothing etc. Some are threaded onto a belt which some like better than the paddle style that fit over the belt and are trapped via tension. While difficult to remove by an assailant these can be removed quite easily by the wearer (say if entering a gun free zone, or if driving etc).