• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spray73

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    Indianapolis
    So I stopped and handled a Para 1911 this afternoon, a .45 to be exact. I must say it was a beautiful gun, felt great in hand and overall seemed like a very smooth firearm.. Now, having never seen one prior to today I have ZERO knowledge of the Charollette, NC company.. My question is what can you all tell me of this brand? Do they offer more than the 1911 I handled, etc.??

Thanks guys.

shooter521

Certified Glock Nut
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    May 13, 2008
    Indianapolis, IN US
    Para USA is a subsidiary of Para Ordnance, a Canadian-based company that has been around since the 1980s. Para USA is now part of the Freedom Group family of companies along with Remington, Bushmaster, DPMS, Marlin, H&R and others. They make a bunch of different 1911s, some better or nicer than others, as well as a line of AR-based rifles.

IME, the US-made Para 1911s are better built and MUCH more reliable than the Canadian guns. We don't sell a lot of Paras generally, but have had very few problems out of the ones we've had come through.

s-works

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 15, 2010
    Indianapolis
    I bought a para nighthawg and out of the box I function checked it. With the safety engaged the trigger would still drop the hammer. Para customer service was not great (to be fair to them they had just moved their hq from canada). The finish on the gun was substandard for that kind of money. It was a cannon though.

Glock10MM

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2012
    I had a P 18. (9MM) It shot very well but, It was extremely picky when it came to ammo. and, it wasn't anywhere close to reliable. If I ever buy another double-stack 1911, it will be a STI.

Sniper 79

Master
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Oct 7, 2012