• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • XtremeVel

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Feb 2, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    Bullet trajectory, less bullet drop. A few examples in more traditional handgun calibers would be .41 mag, .44 mag, 10mm , .357 mag and Sig.

HighStrung

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 5, 2010
    Pendleton
    Bullet trajectory, less bullet drop. A few examples in more traditional handgun calibers would be .41 mag, .44 mag, 10mm , .357 mag and Sig.

Okay, so what are some of the more notorious calibers for having a greater bullet drop. This isn't a sarcastic post, I'm seriously interested. I'm new to the .40 S&W and am still learning this round, havn't got a ton of experience at a variety of distances. So I'm really wondering how much I may have to compensate say, from 3 to 25 yrds.

XtremeVel

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Feb 2, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    Nothing wrong at all with the calibers with much more bullet drop. The .45 acp ( slow and heavy) is a great round. Actually, I find for closer range target shooting, I find the .45 to be as accurate if not more than the calibers mentioned earlier. (At least for me ) As for compensating from 3 to 25 yards.... Well, honestly I wouldn't know. All would depend on many factors... Bullet weight, velocity, trigger control. Best way to find out would be to take it to a range and see first hand. At just 25 yards, might not show at all. Remember, the bullet leaves your barrel under recoil. So, this means the elevation of the muzzle is different depending on the velocity of your round. For years, I had this wrong. The slower the velocity, the higher the impact. ( bullet leaves barrel with muzzle higher)

ghitch75

livin' in the sticks
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    117   0   0
    Dec 21, 2009
    Greene County