• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bruenor

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 26, 2008
    Pendleton
    Today I had my annual eye doctor exam, and I came back with some knowledge. My eye doctor, when looking inside of my eyes, said that I have a couple of small scars on the inside of my eyes that I didn't have before. They are outside of range to affect my vision, but are visible when he uses his scope. Since the only thing that I've changed in my habits since me last appointment was that I started shooting, we theorized that I could be catching small fragments of something while shooting. Yes, it could be something else, but this is a plausible explanation.

I always wear glasses (blind as a bat without them), but the area of the lenses is much smaller than you would see in typical non-prescription shooting glasses you would find at a gun store. Our thought is that since my glasses aren't designed to protect against debris, some things could very easily get in around them.

This is an eye-opener (sorry, pun intended) for me. I always thought that I didn't need to wear special glasses since I had my regular glasses on. I'm going to be looking for a pair of shooting goggles I can put on over my glasses, and I would suggest anyone else who wears glasses do the same. Luckily this hasn't affected my eyesight, but it very easily could.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Very lucky you caught it early. I've done a myriad of different jobs that required different types of safety glasses, side-shields, full-face masks, even respirators.

Do NOT take any chances when it comes to your eyes.

JetGirl

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 7, 2008
    N/E Corner