• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hkindiana

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 19, 2010
    Southern Hills
    At the last Indy 1500 gun show I saw a guy carrying a WWII Japanese Type 96 machine gun through the isles. He saw me eyeing it, and asked if I would like to buy it. I said "is it registered", and he replied that no it was not, but when he found it in his grandfathers attic he took it to the local sheriff to have it checked out. He said "the sheriff told me that since it has a lead plug in the barrel, that it is legal & doesn't need to be registered". He further indicated that the sheriff suggested he should bring it to the 1500 and sell it. I told him that I am not a lawyer, but I was 100% sure that the sheriff gave him inaccurate information, and that it is totally illegal. I suggested that he immediately go outside and lock it up in his trunk & then visit the BATFE booth at the show. He did just that. He told the ATF agents that "his friend" found it his grandfathers attic, and he wanted to buy it from him. He told the ATF agents that the sheriff said it was OK, but he wanted to check with the ATF first. They asked him to stop back later while they researched it. When he checked back with them hours later, they informed him that they had studied all the manuals they had with them and could not find out if it was legal to own an UNREGISTERED machine gun with a lead plug in the barrel!!!!!!!

Last edited:

BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    That does not in any way meet ATF deactivation guide lines. That receivers gotta be cut.

Good job running from that one.

Owner better get smart and deactivate it, or work with the BATFE to get an exception and send it to a museum like that old woman who found the STG-44.

Or buy a new barrel and bury it in the backyard. :abused:

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013