• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • NHT3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    I managed to intrude into AllenM's busy schedule to get him to do a Burris Fastfire III install on my G-17.. I've always been impressed with his work but as usual he's exceeded my expectations. To give a little background, before I retired I worked in a shop, that at one point had over 80 toolmakers. My primary trade was Machine Repair and my job included, at times fabricating parts on a lathe and milling machine. I was also required to draw prints and track the parts I drew through our shop and then install them. I know what a good toolmaker is capable of and I've seen some pretty shoddy work come out of our shop as well as top notch work. To my knowledge Allen has no formal toolmaker training but I would rate his work equal to the top 10% of toolmakers I dealt with. You can judge from the pics, but as I told Allen it appears it wasn't installed but grew from the slide.. I've yet to see anything he's done that wasn't phenomenal work and just wanted to share. (Note that there is a very subtle radius on the rear of the Fastfire that Allen managed to match. Programming that radius took some serious thought and time but it's what I always seen in Allen's work. He's never short where attention to detail is concerned and I have to believe he has the same mentality where the body shop is involved.)..
    Thanks Allen

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    Excellent!

Will be just a range toy / competition gun, I presume?

I have a BFIII as well - but on a 22/45. Would love to have it on a "carry gun" - but there are 3 big obstacles in the way of that for me.

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    My obstacles: