• Status
    Not open for further replies.

Wanderer

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 31, 2012
    Bloomington
    Figured I might as well make my first post now that my collection is somewhat decently-sized. I'm fairly new to firearms collecting, and as you can see my interests right now tend towards World War I era infantry rifles (with a couple older pieces). However, assuming (hoping) AWB 2.0 doesn't pass, I'd certainly like to get some newer guns as well.

Pic of my collection as it stands:
    collection_as_of_1-31-13_zps0a15ce0e.jpg

From top:
    -Southpaw flintlock Virginia Fowler, 20 gauge smoothbore, modern repro by M. Avance
    -Springfield Model 1868 trapdoor, .50-70 Government, breechblock dated 1870 and lock plate dated 1863
    -Mle. 1886 M93 Lebel, 8x50mmR Lebel, Tulle, barrel dated 1891, Balle N marked
    -1891 Carcano, 6.5x52mm Carcano, Turin, barrel dated 1897
    -Arisaka Type 38, 6.5x50mmSR Arisaka, Koishikawa no series with serial # in the 1.8 million range
    -Steyr-Mannlicher M1895, 8x50mmR Mannlicher, Steyr, barrel dated 1916
    -m/96 Swedish Mauser, 6.5x55mm, Carl Gustafs Stads, all matching, 1898
    -Gewehr 98, 7.92x57mm, DWM Berlin, 1906
    -SMLE No. 1 Mk III*, .303 British, BSA, 1917

Wanderer

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 31, 2012
    Bloomington
    Welcome Aboard! Nice collection you have there. Are they shooters or safe / wall pieces?
    So far, I've only put rounds through the flintlock, the two Mausers, and the Lee-Enfield, though I intend on eventually shooting all of them. I need to have a gunsmith check out some of the older ones before I even think of shooting them. I just wish I knew of some decent ranges close to Bloomington; don't seem to be very many around here.

LarryC

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Frankfort