Not open for further replies.

Dave McD

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2023
    Monticello
    Good evening, Dave here.

I'm a retired police officer (and other things). Stroke survivor. Motorcycle rider and racer (not a "biker"). Muscle car owner / racer. Member at Wildcat Valley Rifle & Pistol Club.

Over the years, I've participated in:

"Combat Pistol" (local range in Bloomington, when I was in college)
    PPC (Dallas Police Pistol Team)
    Bullseye (Indiana State Police Pistol Team)
    IDPA
    Silhouette
    High Power
    Skeet
    Trap
    Sporting Clays

I'm now looking to try Benchrest. A few weeks ago, I went to Ohio for Tom Sarver's 1,000 yard Benchrest school at Thunder Valley Precision. What a gas! First time ever at 1,000 yards. It was easier than I thought it would be. (To HIT the target, not necessarily to be competitive!)

If there's a comprehensive, up-to-date list of Benchrest competitions in the area, please post me a link! My "Googling" is turning up so many old calendars, defunct club links, etc., that it's getting pretty frustrating. (No, I haven't searched here yet, and I will; I just like asking real people when I can.)

It looks like you've got a pretty active forum here; that's encouraging! I gave up all news and social media in 2020; it was just too infuriating and depressing. My mental health is a lot better, but I can be pretty uninformed sometimes.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Thanks man, that feels extremely welcoming; seriously.
    We have quite a few current and former L.E.O. on here, I'm not among them, but most are highly respected in these parts.
    Anyone with your firearms background is sure to have valuable information to share with this community and we consume a LOT of information here.
    We are also quite the dysfunctional family.