• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • silentvoice71

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 8, 2009
    Ft Wayne IN
    Ok Im wanting to take gun smithing courses .....not considering not thinking about WANTING.... My family has sold firearms for a number of years but, no one is a gunsmith SO....I was wondering where close to fort wayne there might be a school or a place where i can learn this wonderful craft. I am a very mechanical person. I am a extremely good welder and I can weld using the various type of macheins {mig,tig} etc etc......I am very anal when it comes to my welds. I was welding for a place in huntington we were welding spring housings for hummers for the military. Well i noticed certain peoples welds had LOTS not a 1/4' but im talkin full 3-4" welds full of perisoty.....Those people had high numbers and kept their job.......I had low numbers and perfect weld and lost my job.....Well it was good anyways i got a better one.......The fast is I am a very picky person when it comes to my work I would love to become a gunsmith.

Amishman44

Master
    Rating - 98%
    49   1   0
    Dec 30, 2009
    Woodburn
    Check with Dave Schwarze... on Crecent Avenue just north of E. State Street...H&H has his card/phone number. He's been doing our work for 30 years.

Amishman44

Master
    Rating - 98%
    49   1   0
    Dec 30, 2009
    Woodburn
    Yeah...I was considering the same thing as a 'part-time job' 2 years ago...he was friendly in discussing it...enough to help get me started, but like any wise business person, he's not going to help develop his competition. I think he'd be willing to help you get your feet on the ground though. I've been on a first-name basis with him for several years...so that may have greased the skids a bit for the discussion.