• Would you like to know Morse Code?

• Total voters

HamYankee

Expert
    Rating - 97.5%
    39   1   0
    Jan 24, 2014
    Hendricks County
    Just wanted to post I'm studying for the Element 4 test with a cool iPhone app by Roy Watson, N1ZTL. I'm also using the AA9PW Ham Morse app to attempt to learn Morse Code. I just started the Morse Code app today and so far I think I know v, m, k, r, s, h, and u. Gonna take LOTS of practice. Priority is the Element 4 test though.
    H.Y.

The Keymaster

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Mar 12, 2010
    Manistee County, MI
    Code is a great addition to the HAM toolbox. Even though it is not required it is an essential skill for SHTF. The power requirements are much lower, and the language is universal. PSK31 is a great second choice for those who do not have the patience for code.

PistolBob

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Oct 6, 2010
    Midwest US
    I've been 100% CW for about 20 years now...it's the most fun you can have while still fully clothed. Go for it, you won't regret it.

vvet762

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 16, 2013
    Fort Wayne
    Code was a lot of fun. I learned back in 1976 and got my novice ticket. Finally upgraded to Advanced ticket a couple decades ago. I tried to get back in to Ham radio but it seems that the pride and dedication to something special is gone You don't even need code to become a ham. A couple of years ago I decided to get back on the air and found too much bad language and unprofessionalism that I sold the rig and gave up the idea of ham radio. I will always keep current on code by tapping out license plate code in my mind just incase of SHTF.

HamYankee

Expert
    Rating - 97.5%
    39   1   0
    Jan 24, 2014
    Hendricks County
    "tapping out license plate code" That's an awesome mental exercise!