• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wolfe28

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2011
    Why is this done, and what temperature? My attached garage is much cooler than the house, but not as cold as outside, so I want to know if this will be an acceptable spot to hang a deer, if necessary.

Thanks,
    D

hooky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 4, 2011
    Central Indiana
    I'm no expert, but you need to hang it around 40F or below without freezing it. Don't butcher while rigor mortis has set in. You'll want to wait at least 2 days, 3 is better, 4-6 is best IF you can keep the temp under 40F. The older the deer, the longer you want to hang it. You're basically waiting for the natural enzymes to break down the collagen, otherwise it's tough. Same process behind aging steaks.

jy951

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Feb 18, 2009
    You hang the deer to help allow it to cool faster. It helps to prop the body cavity open with a stick. It's always good to cool the deer down as soon as possible after being shot. Outside would be better than your garage, especially if there is a breeze.

sbcman

Master
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Dec 29, 2010
    Southwest Indiana
    Deer hanging is mainly done to have a tasteful lawn ornament before Christmas.

christmasdeer.jpg

Here's a good article on the subject: http://www.fieldandstream.com/articles/other/recipes/2006/01/deer-hang-time

Hanging is done to allow the meat to "cure", so to speak. Hanging them in a garage is fine, so long as the temp will be less than 50 in the daytime. I personally hang my deer for one day in temps below 50 in my garage. When temps are above 50, I quarter them and put them in a cooler with ice for a day before processing.

Last edited:

AGarbers

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Feb 4, 2009
    Martinsville