• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HoughMade

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2012
    Valparaiso
    I have a sun room off of my master bedroom that is about 14x14. It is built on the same plane as the deck off of the family room which is a story in the air because the house has a walkout basement. This means the floor of the sunroom is open underneath, kind of. Part of it is over a shed, part of it over open ground, all the below is unheated. The floor is insulated- the joists are 2x10 and there is bat insulation in them, but I do not believe it is full thickness. I believe it is the insulation that was used in the rest of the 2x6 walls.

The sun room itself has standard insulated 2x6 walls, but 6 large double hung windows and a door to the deck. The ceiling is insulated as well. Here's the kicker- there are no heating ducts running to the sun room (see the "open to below" issues mentioned above). When we leave the door to the master bedroom open and run a quartz electric heater in there, it can get comfortable on cold days, but it's never quite as warm as other parts of the house.

Eventually, I want to put a mini-split in there, but right now I suspect that the cold air underneath is sapping a fair amount of heat. If you were dealing with this space, what would you try....I am thoroughly able to do most any home improvement project myself.

drop45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 23, 2012
    My empire of dirt
    Is electric floor radiant heat an option? I think it comes in rolls that get stapled down and then your flooring of choice gets laid down on top. I think it's also plug and play, all grids get joined together.

HoughMade

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2012
    Valparaiso