• Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    Just ran across this on Facebook. Seems bogus to me. Any of you medical types know of any HIPPA regs that would actually prevent the parent, who I think is required to be present because the minor cant make decisions, from being allowed back?

And WTF would OSHA have to do with a medical exam?

10603789_720302071352772_5821755243088029498_n.jpg

hoosierdoc

Freed prisoner
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 27, 2011
    Galt's Gulch
    Sorry, I'm a lateral professional, you need to talk to my partner who specialized in the medial side.

On a serious note... was this a pediatric dentist's office? I suspect so. Having non-patients and non-employees in a procedure room may be an issue for OSHA, but I don't know.

88GT

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 29, 2010
    Familyfriendlyville
    Last edited:

philo

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 24, 2010
    Peoples Republic of Bloomington
    It's a perversion of the law. The part they are trying to comply with doesn't require the parents to be absent so that the child's privacy is protected. It's to protect the privacy of other patients who might be within hearing/sight of the parents. I just received an email on this. Let me see if I can dig it up.

When the Sign Says "No Parents Allowed" - Parentalrights.org - Protecting Children by Empowering Parents 

It's absolute nonsense. If that is their explanation ( to protect the privacy of the patient in the next bay) then each patient is invading the privacy of each other patient.