• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ryang

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 27, 2011
    So I'm planning a hiking trip with some friends for later this year in California. (Through hiking the JMT for those hikers on here)

I have been doing some research and haven't liked the results so was wondering if anyone on INGO has a solution. I would prefer to carry a large revolver for the trip but know there is no way that I would get approved to do this as I'm an Indiana resident. I considered an AOW but found out it would essentially be counted as a handgun and have the same problem. Does anyone have any ideas of what can legally work?

Any legal alternatives are appreciated, but I know this might be a lost cause.

87iroc

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 25, 2012
    Bartholomew County
    I'll be the first to say it....change trip plans to hike in a free state.

Other than that, good luck, but I don't think there's an option to carry anything bigger than a pocket knife in the PRC.

pack-indy

Master
    Rating - 100%
    109   0   0
    Mar 2, 2011
    Shoshone NF
    I have done a few weeks on the AT and would love to hike the JMT someday. I'm not the most up to date on the gun laws out there, but I'd be hesitant to carry anything more than a solid fixed blade and/or a good bear fogger. Good luck and have fun when you go...be sure to post pics when you get back.

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    94   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    I'll be the first to say it....change trip plans to hike in a free state.

Other than that, good luck, but I don't think there's an option to carry anything bigger than a pocket knife in the PRC.

Yep, don't take your money there to support their anti-2A actions. This is a big country, lots of trails.

CampingJosh

Master
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Dec 16, 2010