• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spectre327

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 19, 2011
    Seymour, Indiana
    OK so here I am, already a prepper at heart with knowledge and some equipment in hand blah blah blah.

Sad to say I am also a newb as well. I have a medium Alice pack with the frame and I have been in several personal shtf situations, like being without a home and carless, and short on money etc.

I am seriously trying to get a BOB set up and my pack is all I have for now.

My question is how to properly and efficiently pack the pack so it is useful. I will be testing it out here In the next month on a camp out. But ,y issue is when I stack my stuff it fills fast, just folded BDUs take much of my space. There's a method to the madness I know, and I'd like some experienced input so I can maximize my gear.

Thanks

Blackhawk2001

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jun 20, 2010
    NW Indianapolis
    There are a couple methods to packing a single-entrance/open top pack. One method is to pack heavy items first, then lighter items. Get rid of any commercial packaging, consolidate items where you can, put smaller/need-to-get-at items in the outer pockets, rain/cold weather gear in a bag outside where you can get at it easily.

Another method is to load your pack in the order in which you expect to need things; e.g. cooking/food items on top.

I don't pack extra outer clothing/boots in my BOB; I have them in a separate bag in my car. I DO pack extra inner clothing layers and socks in my BOB; but I plan to exterior-load any extra outer-clothing (e.g. jackets/coats/rain gear) I'm going to need based on the weather and climate.

Hope that helps somewhat.

BravoMike

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Nov 19, 2011
    Avon