• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kitty

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 4, 2010
    Whiting
    Title pretty much says it all. My uncle used to take care of this, but he has moved out the are and my knives are getting dull. I have never done this before (yes, i know that was stupid but too late now). I'm looking to get pointed in the right direction.

A book or a GOOD video online on how to do it right would be greatly appreciated.

Ambu

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Aug 16, 2011
    Thanks for starting this thread, I'm interested too. +1 sent
    I don't want to have to rely on my dad to sharpen my knives forever.

Oliver

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 26, 2009
    I knew NOTHING about knife sharpening, but after my wife purchased a Spyderco Sharpmaker for Christmas I am able to put a decent edge on some old knives I own. It will take a while before I consider letting it touch one of my better knives, but it works great so far, is cheap, and is pretty much dummy-proof.

tradertator

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Jul 1, 2008
    Greene County
    Sharpmaker works well for the bulk of my stuff, especially with the diamond and ultra fine stones. If the geometry of the blade is weird or ridiculously hard steel, it takes a trip to Tylers house.

RAMBOCAT

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 21, 2011
    my LANSKY and my SPYDERCO fufill all my needs. the LANSKY for initial edges (first time sharpened), and my SPYDERCO to keep them razor sharp. by the way, does anyone know what happened to Mike Ruppert, at Renott Training and Supplies, who wrote the definitive instructions on how to use the LANSKY.

mwmccormick

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 30, 2009
    Seymour