• ...and so much more!
  • Que

Meekness ≠ Weakness
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 98%
    48   1   0
    Feb 20, 2009
    Blacksburg
    I am about to take 26 students to Ghana in May. Every other time I've attended this class, I was a subordinate instructor, but this time I will be the lead instructor. One of the issues foremost in my mind whenever I take students abroad is safety. Along with safety is first aid.

I've honestly forgotten everything I learned in the Army. I guess it would be better to say that I wouldn't trust myself to implement what I do remember. So, I need some training. The question is where do I go?

I want to be able to care for major wounds that occur far away from medical facilities. I also need to know the right type of equipment to take with me. Any help with pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated.

lovemywoods

Geek in Paradise!
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   0
    Mar 26, 2008
    Brown County
    I recommend you talk to Bill of Rights and Redneckmedic. Both are professional responders and might be able to help you in your search for the right information. :yesway:

jeremy

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Feb 18, 2008
    Fiddler's Green
    Ghana...
    Been a while since I was there...
    Not looking forward to going back either...

What kind of Med Supplies will you have access to?!
    How far to a Med Facility?!

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    If you already had some type of training in the past maybe a basic first aid/CPR class from the Red Cross would bring memory back.
    I attempted a two days class at my local Red Cross a couple of years ago, I didn't really learn anything new since I already had some previous knowledge, but it was nice to see that the things I knew where the good things to do.
    And I was able to practice CPR on mannequins and other skills on people.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%