• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • blue2golf

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Evansville
    Sorry to beat a dead horse(I know it's been covered before), but we're taking jaunt to St. Louis in a few weeks. I'd like to take a handgun, but I don't want to violate any laws in Illinois or Missouri. I was thinking I'd disassemble it so I'd just be "transporting" it.

What are the parameters?

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    You should read the INGO FAQ. There's a section that covers the Peaceable Journey statutes. The FAQ is linked in my sig.

lawrra

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 28, 2009
    Huntington
    I've read before that as long as you don't stop (or do anything stupid if you stop) in Illinois, you are able to transport a handgun to your destination. I'm not a lawyer though, so it might be in your best interest to contact the Illinois state police/highway patrol and talk to someone about it, or the Indiana state police firearms division.

SMiller

Master
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jan 15, 2009
    Hamilton Co.
    The gun is to be unloaded and locked in the glove box and the ammo stored away in the truck. Keep your speed somewhat in check and all will be ok.

minuteman32

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 23, 2008
    Central IN
    Unloaded & inaccessible while travelling through IL. Once you reach MO, load up & enjoy relative freedom again. Same thing coming back. Lat time I went through IL I unloaded my G23, took the upper off the frame, put everything in a bag & put it under my seat. It was unloaded, disassembled & relatively inaccessible, but could be reassembled & loaded in a few seconds, if needed.

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Note that some states (including IL) consider a loaded mag to be the same as a loaded gun, so make sure your mags are unloaded, too!