• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Indy60

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 10, 2012
    Central IN
    I know there must be threads somewhere on the forum explaining this but here is my question. I am arguing with a friend who was able to get his felony conviction expunged or hidden on his record. he now believes he can own a firearm, I disagree. The way I read the law your civil rights are restored except where the federal law on firearms is concerned. The prohibition on a convicted felon possessing a firearm is a federal law and the IN 2nd chance law is state, trumped by the federal statute. The other way I read the IN law is the record is only hidden but not expunged. Who is right in this case?

Paul30

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 16, 2012
    I'm no lawyer so my opinion is worth less than you paid for it. If a state expunges a record and restores rights, then it is like it never happened in that state, and that would mean the Feds would also have to go by that. I know it is possible to get your RKBA restored after a felony, I have heard of many people doing it years later after they have lived long enough to prove they are a good boy now. I imagine it would be up to the judge in the particular county of the conviction.

Oh, You can always go back and edit your post and add lines ot if if you want to avoid a second post.

Gunner72

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 19, 2014
    NE Indiana
    I have a friend that tried this and failed. Had a talk with Kirk about it also.
    Tell your friend not to get caught with firearm or he will go to jail.
    Governor pardon or going to court and get modification done. Gov. Pardon takes longer a way more expensive. I believe Kirk said about $5000.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Indy, you are quite correct, he is still a prohibited person in the eyes of the feds.