Indianapolis CLEO Signature - Was it done right?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mr.JAG

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN
    So today I dropped off my Form 1's at the Indianapolis building today for the CLEO signature. This is my first time ever doing this, and I'm not really sure if everything was done correctly.

When I got to the counter, I told the lady I was there to get 2 fingerprint cards done and to drop off my ATF Form 1's for a CLEO signature. She handed me a white half-sheet of paper that basically asked for my name, age, race, DOB, and SS#. She said it was to perform a background check on me in order to receive a signature (this is something I hadn't seen others mention as being required for a CLEO sign-off before).

I filled it out and handed it to her along with my Form 1's, to which she proceeded to staple all 3 together and toss off to the side. Also, not something I was expecting as I was under the impression these forms shouldn't be stapled together. So I politely asked her if she knew what forms these were and what she was doing with them - and I immediately got a stern verbal attack... "I do hundreds of these a day... have been doing hundreds a day for the past 7 years... etc"

Yea, she probably has... so I apologized and told her it was my first time so I wasn't sure how it worked and just wanted to know everything was correct. She calmed down after that...