• ...and so much more!
  • cbseniour

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 8, 2011
    South East Marion County
    Insurance 101​

I was inspired to write this short piece by a thread posted by SEIndSAM “INSURANCE SUCKS”
    First let me explain that I worked as a claims adjuster in different areas of claim from 1986 until 2010 when I finally had all I could take of the business. Also I agree Insurance Companies do suck but just a little knowledge of just how they suck may be of benefit to some of you out there. I’m sure there as some of you who know more than I do about this subject but there are a lot who don’t so here goes.

First insurance companies loose money every year on their premium v. claims ratios. They make money by investing all of those premiums until they have to be reserved and paid out.

Secondly, while compliance is iffy at best claims agents are bound by law to deal with you on an open and honest basis. They can loose their jobs for misrepresenting.

Next Claims:
    There are two separate classes of individuals (companies etc) that claim deal with the first is the insured. The insurance company’s responsibility to the insured is spelled out in pretty good detail in the policy. There is a written contract between the company and the insured. Therefore if the policy says that the company will pay the full cost of repair and the initial settlement was less than the full cost of repair the company will normally honor the additional cost.