• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mr Boomer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 2, 2013
    South Bend
    How do I get involved in 3 gun matches? I live in Indianapolis.

Also, would my 3-9 VX-R patrol with offset irons be alright?

what is a good beginner shotgun?

FishnHunt

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 18, 2013
    Churubusco
    Check out Indiana Multigun's website and Facebook page (if you do that sort of thing) for some info, rules, and scheduling, and just show up. Somebody on here recommended talking to Deb at Plainfield Shooting Supply to me, that'd be somewhat close for you. I'm just getting started as well, and have gotten a lot of good info here as well from some of the guys at the range here in the Fort Wayne area that hosts some of the matches.

Almost everyone I've talked to has said to bring whatever you have and shoot a match before buying a bunch of equipment, so I'd say your rifle setup would be fine. Most of the guys I've talked to are using semi-auto shotguns, but there are pump-actions used as well (I'm going to use my 870 this year till I decide if I'm going to stick with it). If you're in the market anyway, Mossberg makes a 930 semi-auto that is tricked out for 3-gun that might be worth a look. Lots of the hard-core guys shoot a Benelli M2 or Remington Versamax.

There is a ton of good info out there for just general 3-gun info that will help you figure out where to spend your money. Good luck, and I hope to see ya at a match this year!

Mr Boomer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 2, 2013
    South Bend
    Thanks, I sent a request on the Indiana Multigun website for info and liked their page. I have read a little up on the rules and divisions. That was the exact shotgun I was looking at, the Mossberg 930 SP Blackwater. I am definitely going to do it, I am super excited.

rabbitdave

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 12, 2008
    Zionsville, IN