• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wazimu

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 2, 2013
    I am new to long guns and recently purchased a DPMS AR and it does not have sights. I do have a Bushnell red dot that I could mount and just forget the iron sights for a while as real AR sights ain't cheap.

I use iron sights on my 10/22 but don't want to pick up bad habits with my first AR by going directly to a red dot. I'm just plinking, by the way. Are the iron sights essential or just forget about it and shoot the thing with what I already own?

chilly2477

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 2, 2012
    That is entirely up to you, I personally would have fun with the red dot, but buy the sights as well. You never have to change the batteries on Iron sights. I have a red dot on a quick release mount for my AK but ultimately count on my iron sights.

CQB

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Jul 4, 2012
    Central North Forty
    As a plinking rifle - whatever makes you happy. As a defense/survival rifle - both. something like Magpul flip up BUIS for around $80. Cowittness the iron sights through the red dot. My :twocents:

canav844

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 22, 2011
    Both can fail, redundancy is a good thing, co-witness is better, and if you get flip up BUIS then you can co witness and if it's too clutter a sight picture fold them down.

horsehaulin

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 12, 2011
    Fort Wayne
    Like others have said, flip up front and rear. Familiarize yourself with your rifle, then step up to a nice red dot for primary shooting. Just remember when buying the front sight that the gas block on a DPMS is shorter than most and you will need a sight that compensates for that difference in height compared to the upper receiver.

Wazimu

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 2, 2013