• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • seedubs1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 17, 2013
    Needing to know from the experts whether or not this is a fake.

I got this as a trade offer for my Schempp Tuff. It seems to be a fake to my untrained eyes. No lock bar stabilizer, BOS and USA stamp, and the G10 looks off. He claims it's real and 2010 manufactured. I'm not an expert, and I know some of the old old Striders were BOS stamped and had no lock ar stabilizer. So I don't want to be a jerk and call this guy out unnecessarily. But it sure looks like a fake to me.

c0ff94173ff281fa96536cd67a20d1cb_zpsrdbcqvxf.jpg

500882113ab1e8808e0b10f273f89f7d_zpsa6qqlfrq.jpg

11abb64a029a7242be1edfabec6ff43c_zpsgrihlj37.jpg

dd87ab1ebe2ea7f5c275e3a06dba8531_zps839pu3mr.jpg

seedubs1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 17, 2013
    The older Striders had BOS heat treat, and we're BOS stamped. I think that ended in 2007 or so, though. So him claiming it was a 2010 throws flags, I think.....

If I'm not mistaken a real Strider is not BOS stamped, or at least the newer ones aren't. The stopped the BOS stamp around gen3 I believe.

No idea. I haven't wasted my time yet. Guy just sent pics. Said it locks up tight.

I'd ask Brad

How's the lock up and fit and finish?

grunt soldier

Master
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    May 20, 2009
    hamilton county
    If its 2010 with a bos heat treat stamp it is a fake. Bos moved from cali to idaho in like 2007 and when they did strider started doing there own heat treat which was set up by bos. The G10 also doesn't look right to me but that doesn't mean anything since I'm not completely in the know if older striders. Post it up on the USN in micks forum and he will tell you himself whether it's real or not.