• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hntrroy

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Winslow IN
    I inherited an old RIA Springfield 1904 that has a low serial number. The rifle is not usable due to an issue with the heat treating on the receiver. It looks like someone attempted to do a restoration and only got part way through it and discovered that it was defective. So now my question is about what to do with it. I was wondering if the metal can be used to make a knife. I am new to knife making and just wasn't sure about how good it would be. I figured that with all the experienced people on INGO I would get some good advice. Thanks in advance.

PoolQs

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 11, 2014
    Noblesville
    I am sorry that I can not answer your question. Not being a gun guy and not knowing what type of steel that was used
    for the barrel, I have no answer. Maybe if one of the gun guys can answer the material question, I should be able to
    answer the forging question. Troy

PoolQs

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 11, 2014
    Noblesville
    I just happened to come across this and remembered your question.
    If you do a little research, you might be able to find your answer.

attachment.php

Gamez235

Master
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Mar 24, 2009
    Upstate
    The barrel is most likely a Chro-moly steel, 41XX series. While it could be made into a knife, other materials would perform much better. Reading around, Blind Horse made knives at one time out of 4140, interesting find I must say.

With all that said, if you mind is set out on it.... Give it a try, it might just lead you someplace you never expected to be...

Deadeye(+)

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Feb 4, 2015
    Bainbridge