• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Exodus

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 29, 2011
    SWI
    Since I am very near doing load testing for my 308 I was brushing up on how it is recommended to do the ladder test. While searching for this I came across the OCW test. OCW Overview - Dan Newberry's OCW Load Development System

My plans for the ladder test were to run 3 strings which would eliminate what the guy that developed the OCW test says the faults of the ladder test are. I do like how you can get pretty reliable results at 100 yrds going the OCW way as the ladder gets to be a jumble at 100. Think I'm going to go the OCW route as in using a seperate target area for each load. Beats having to color the bullets so I know which is which.

Kirkd

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 22, 2013
    Greenwood
    Im new to reloading for long range shooting myself. From my research, you need to shoot a ladder test at 300 yards minimum. The longer the distance, the better. The OCW is shot at 100 yards. I will probably end up doing the OCW because zi have access to a 100 yards range. I still want to shoot a ladder test as well.

i have lnked a video sbout the OCW that is pretty good. He even talks about the pitfalls of a ladder test (manly the time to do it).

Mail Call Mondays Season 2 #35 - Optimal Charge Weight (OCW) and Optimal Barrel Time (OBT) - YouTube

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009