• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BigBoxaJunk

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 9, 2013
    East-ish
    I'm relatively new to reloading. I got my Dillon 550 early last spring with 9mm dies and I've been loading and learning over the summer. I've had a really good time, and didn't run into any problems with 9mm.

But, I recently got a set of Lee .38 Spl dies and this past Saturday, my son and I set it up and loaded some. I figured it would take a little more force for re-sizing .38 brass, since it's a longer case, and it did, but not really very much.

But, where I did notice a really big difference was with the powder funnel/case expander die. I set that up so that it leaves just enough bell to seat the bullet, but the narrower part that pushes down about the same depth of the bullet (when it's seated) drags very hard when I pull it back out. My loader is securely fastened to a stout, heavy work table, but I still had to be careful each time I pulled up the lever so that it wouldn't shake things too much. I even ended up putting a very light coat of oil on the die every few rounds and that helped quite a bit. I ended up loading 130 rounds or so, with a range of powder charge for testing and otherwise, they loaded just fine and look good. Being new, I just don't know if that's normal or not.

I was using new Starline brass. I'm going to try some once-fired brass that I just cleaned and see if that makes a difference.

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    The first thing I would do is attach the table to the wall and make it rock solid.
    I assume that you are using Carbide dies, are you lubing the cases at all ? If not I suggest that you try using some spray lube and then see how much smoother your press will run.
    I have been running Dillon machines since the beginning of the early eightys and I have never had to lube the powder drop tube if that's what you have oiled.