• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • matthewquigley

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 28, 2011
    I have a Lee turret press that I love. I'm looking at getting the Hornady dies because I really like the idea of the micrometer on the seating die. Will the Hornady die work with the Lee press? I'm still pretty new at this and this die seems like an easier way to load my .223 rounds since OAL is so critical. Thanks!

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009
    OAL to the ogive is critical...most dies, with or without a micrometer adjustment, are quite consistent at repeating that dimension. I'm loading 1/3-MOA rounds for a factory 308 rifle using plain old RCBS dies. No micrometer needed. YMMV :twocents: n' all that.

Aszerigan

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    337   0   0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Bean Blossom, IN
    Yes, the Hornady dies will work. All modern dies (with the exception of conversions for the Dillon SDB) are threaded in 7/8"x14" threads, as are all single stage, turret, and progressive presses (with the noted exception above). Interchangeability between modern dies and presses is not a problem.

The only time that OAL becomes a factor is with VLD bullets, which I assume you're not using to start. If you are using VLD bullets, then make sure you invest in dies that allow for a standard/VLD bullet seating plug change. Again, 99.99% of the time this is not an issue.

If you're using XM193, SS109, or standard mil profile bullets, you're in the clear.

noylj

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 8, 2011
    The micrometer allows you to return to a given COL. However, how many times do you need to return to the same COL? If you shoot a bunch of different bullets, how many times are you going back to that bullet? If you shoot a lot of a single bullet, how many times will you lose your die setting?