• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • flightsimmer

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 27, 2008
    S.E. Indy
    I won't go into why I got into the Linux operating system but I'm glad I did.
    It was super easy to download and install once I understood how to do it. It is very much like my Windows XP on my older Pentium 4 machine.

I'm currently running it off of a USB thumb drive but if you desire to put it on your hard drive there is an option to do that.

Now I am no expert by any means and I have to ask others how to do most anything concerning computers but if you are still running an older version Windows and don't like it you need to try Linux. So far I have found nothing that I don't like about it.

Oh! And did I mention that it's FREE!
    You can of course donate to them and should.

Expat

Pdub
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Michiana
    My first attempts at Linux were around 97. I was dabbling in Redhat because I got a disk in a book. I primarily had Mac hardware so I started using PPC distros, Yellow Dog for one. I got to beta test Mandrake’s first version. . After a few years of that, I got a Wintel tower and laptop. So I started trying the mainline distros again. I used to always keep a couple extra partitions on my boxen (haven’t used that word in years) to test the newest releases. Somewhere along the way 15+ years ago I started using Slackware. It just seemed the easiest for me or simplest.

wtburnette

WT(aF)
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Nov 11, 2013
    SW side of Indy
    I used Mint for about 2 years and it was great. I replaced my old failing laptop recently with a new Dell and haven't reinstalled it yet because I've been too lazy to look up how to defeat the secureboot feature this laptop has. This amount of time with Windows 10 has given me plenty of time to hate it though. I need to get Mint on this thing soon.

Mr Evilwrench