Lockback knives are stronger/safer my ass!!!

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • G_Stines

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 2, 2010
    Central Indiana
    I have been carrying a S&W lock back for 4 years daily. I use it for everything and have never tripped it and had it close on me. It also has a very stiff lock. I own several of their lock backs and have never had an issue either, I even tried to see if I could safely mimic this before posting, to no avail. It's also possible that since I have been carrying a lock back for so long that I am aware of hand positions that limit/avoid this. Call them, see if you can return it/have it looked at/fixed and worst case scenario get your money back. Any time I have ever dealt with them the Customer Service has been pretty good.

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    I am now 100% sure the knife didnt close because the way I was holding it.
    I used my both hands, one hand on the back of the handle (not touching the steel bar that activates the lockback on the spine of the handle) and the other hand pressing down on the back of the blade with my palm.
    It doesnt take much force and the knife closes all the time.
    It takes about the same amount of force to close this knife without touching the lock mechanism than it takes to close a swiss army knife (which has no locking mechanism, just a spring to keep the blade open).
    This is definitely a very weak and dangerous lock.

Knife Lady

PROUD TO BE AN ARMY BRAT
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010