• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dswanso1

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 1, 2013
    Fishers
    I am new to shooting, I have put a few hundred rounds through my ruger 10/22 rifle and now I am starting to think about getting a handgun that is relatively inexpensive to shoot, would be good for range shooting as well as for home defense. I also just applied for a carry permit, so the handgun that I get will likely end up being the gun that I carry. I am looking for some suggestions on what I should go with....I am not in a huge rush because I want to take my time and make sure I get a gun that is right for me. I am also on a budget, so cheap to shoot and an inexpensive starting price is really what I am looking for. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

Glock10MM

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2012
    Look for LEO trade-in Glocks. (A fair amount of these are G22s, which are chambered in 40 S&W) The Sig 2022s are also good pistols.

If you like revolvers, S&W Model 10s can be found for $300.

Small revolvers i.e. the S&W 642 can be found for reasonable prices as well.

pwoller

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 22, 2012
    Indianapolis
    I'd go with a 9mm the ammo is about the cheapest handgun ammo. I like the XD's but you need to go handle them and see what fits your needs.

Colarmel

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 17, 2013
    Greater Fort Wayne Area
    I was really interested in an XDM, but they were incredibly expensive compared to the gun I picked, Sig SP2022. They're cheap, if you get the .40 you can convert it to .357 Sig, and if you don't, 9mm* is supposed to be pretty good as well. the thing fits my hand like a glove, but ymmv.

*I got the 9mm for reasons expressed by pwoller, but I don't know if it's any good to shoot because I can't find any ammo, but hopefully the panic will die down soon.

jerryv

Marksman