Looking to purchase either a 1911 or Revolver. Advice?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CRHK88

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 7, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    Hello all,

I am new to INGO and I am in the process of adding either a 1911 or a Revolver to my collection. It will NOT be used as my primary carry or home defense pistol, for that I would prefer either my H&K USP Compact .40, Sig P220 .45, or if I need something smaller, my Sig P232.

But I am just looking for something to take to the range and have some fun, and I have never owned either a 1911 or a revolver. Like many others, I have always wanted a 1911. I am considering selling my Glock 23 and putting that money towards the purchase. I just bought the Glock from a friend and I really don't like it. Not that it is a bad gun by any means, it just isn't for me.

I am considering either a Rock Island Armory GI M1911A1 Mil Spec .45 which I have found for $375 new or some type of .357 revolver, I was thinking Ruger or S&W. I am not familiar with the Rock Island, but I have read good things about it on this site and it was reviewed VERY well on the site that is selling it. I originally considered saving up for a Kimber or Colt 1911, but I have read less than stellar reviews on the Kimber, and I figured since it won't be my primary PD/HD option I would rather not spend the kind of money either one is going to demand.