• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hornadylnl

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008
    Just started my new job and they use Merrill Lynch for 401k. My old job was Fidelity so I'm totally new to Merrill. It looks like my current investment options are as follows. I have no idea which ones to choose. I think I'm currently defaulted to 2040 Target Date Fund.
    Domestic
    Diversified Real Asset Fund
    US Large Cap Equity Fund
    US Large Cap Equity Index Fund
    US SMID Equity Fund
    US SMID Equity Index Fund

International
    Emerging Markets Equity Fund
    International Developed EQ FD
    International Developed EQ IDX

Bond/Fixed Income
    US Bond Fund
    US Bond Index Fund

Money Market
    Money Market Fund

Allocation Funds
    2005 Target Date Fund
    all the way up to 2055 Target Date Fund

Looks like almost all of these have a Jan 2013 inception date. I'm not seeing any sort of star rating on each of these so I don't really know what to do. With my old account, I had about 75% in a target date fund and the other 25% split between 2-3 other funds. Between the 10% I'm putting in and the 4% I'm getting in match, I should be putting in nearly $10k per year.

RSW

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 13, 2013
    I would say start by checking the fees involved in Target Date Funds. They are usually higher than other funds that are usually available in a 401k.

Just started my new job and they use Merrill Lynch for 401k. My old job was Fidelity so I'm totally new to Merrill. It looks like my current investment options are as follows. I have no idea which ones to choose. I think I'm currently defaulted to 2040 Target Date Fund.
    Domestic
    Diversified Real Asset Fund
    US Large Cap Equity Fund
    US Large Cap Equity Index Fund
    US SMID Equity Fund

International
    Emerging Markets Equity Fund
    International Developed EQ FD