• ...and so much more!
  • dross

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 27, 2009
    Monument, CO
    I'm new to reloading.

I've read the cautions that say you should use the exact powder, bullet and primer recommended in whatever manual you're using. Yet I know people are mixing these components.

For instance, I have some Nosler ballistic tip bullets, but the Nosler site only lists four powders for use and doesn't mention primers. I have some IMR 4894 powder, but I can't find this combination.

What is a safe procedure to build loads when you don't have the exact components?

ghitch75

livin' in the sticks
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    117   0   0
    Dec 21, 2009
    Greene County
    go by know load data for the rd you want to load.....only time you might get in trouble if the powders get mixed....

45fan

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 20, 2011
    East central IN
    Usually you will be fine by loading by bullet weight, and starting at the bottom end of a load, and working your way up. As long as you are careful, and watch for signs of pressure, you should be fine.

Yeah

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 3, 2009
    Dillingham, AK
    Bearing surface and obturation tendencies matter every bit as much as bullet weight. I'd not throw a 100 grain Nosler Partition on top of my 105 Amax load and expect it work. It would overpressure significanty due to the former's generous bearing surface as compared with the latter. Same with a moly load versus not.

There are several reputable sources of load data outside published manuals. 6mmbr.com has a variety of verified loads. So does reloadersbench. Stick to the places that actually verify loads rather than just compile lists. Check several sources for common charge weights with your components, start around 20% low, and work up a round at a time.

Or ask someone with Quickload to run a pressure curve and start equally low.

shibumiseeker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%