• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • imprimis5

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2008
    Plainfield, IN
    Ok, so I've pretty well decided that I am going to pick up a Mosin 91/30 (unless someone can convince me that I should be getting an M44). However, being somewhat of a gun n00b, I'm not really sure what I should be looking for when I go to purchase it. Used sales, as in any "buyer beware" situation, always kind of freak me out, especially when I'm not an expert on what I'm buying.

Anything I should be on the lookout for, good or bad?

Donnelly

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 22, 2008
    Cass County
    I personally have an M38. Just like the M44 but without the bayonet to pull shots off to the left, or right, or whichever direction the bayonet pulls them. I prefer the slightly shorter stature of the M38 over the 91/30. Also, I have read that the M38 is slightly more collectible than the 91/30 and the M44, if that makes any difference.

Try to make sure numbers match up on the receiver, bolt, floorplate to the 5rd fixed magazine. Other than that, just look for the prettiest wood you can find.

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    You'll also want to check the bolt face and chamber for corrosion or pitting, check the rifling, and check the crown for damage.

I'm not a big fan of the 91/30. It's a pain to clean because it's so long. I really like my M44, though.

Oh, and most sellers will include an accessories kit (sling, oil bottle, etc). Other than the sling, the rest of the stuff will just sit in your closet.

dburkhead

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    You'll also want to check the bolt face and chamber for corrosion or pitting, check the rifling, and check the crown for damage.

I'm not a big fan of the 91/30. It's a pain to clean because it's so long. I really like my M44, though.