• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • canterbc

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jul 13, 2012
    Noblesville
    So I will be moving back to Indiana in a few months. I currently live in Florida and have my FL CWL. Just because of the situation, we probably won't become Indiana residents until a couple of months after the move. I can just use my FL CWL while I am still a FL resident as there is reciprocity. My question is what do I do when I officially become an Indiana resident? The way I read it is even if I had a Utah non resident or FL non resident license, once you are an Indiana resident only the Indiana LTCH is valid. Am I reading this wrong or am I just SOL while my LTCH is being processed? Thanks for the help!

canterbc

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jul 13, 2012
    Noblesville
    Thanks. I was hoping there was a way around not having a license for a couple of months, but it looks like that's just the way it is. I'll need to get my license right away because I hear they are getting rid of the lifetime license any day now.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Thanks. I was hoping there was a way around not having a license for a couple of months, but it looks like that's just the way it is.

A challenge!:D

Yes, there are ways, the most helpful would to be to carry a blackpowder or pre-1899 handgun as you are not required to have a LTCH for these. *Note that you cannot be a prohibited person (domestic batterer or SVF).

"IC 35-47-2-19
    Application of chapter
    Sec. 19. This chapter does not apply to any firearm not designed to use fixed cartridges or fixed ammunition, or any firearm made before January 1, 1899."

Lee11b

Master
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 22, 2014
    North Webster