• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jstory

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 14, 2015
    Wabash
    Getting ready to start reloading 223. My sizing die is full length. I know I will have to use it on once fired, but what about my brass out of my AR? Can I just neck size that brass and be fine? Or should I just use the full length die and not worry about neck sizing. Fairly new to rifle reloading and would like to get it right...thanks again INGO :ingo:

bocefus78

Master
    Rating - 100%
    39   0   0
    Apr 9, 2014
    Hamilton Co.
    For a semi auto, FL size.
    For a bolt gun, neck size after an initial FL size and fire form.

I'm also new to necked cartridges, but this is what I was told by some respected members of ingo.

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    385   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    Happy 500th..

For a semi auto, FL size.
    For a bolt gun, neck size after an initial FL size and fire form.

I'm also new to necked cartridges, but this is what I was told by some respected members of ingo.

Happy 500th post boc..

Yeah j. you should FL size your brass for your AR..

Some hand loaders even like to go as far as to size with a small base size die.
    I have had good luck with just using my Redding Full Length size die set..Bill

oldpink

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2009
    Farmland
    Bocefus is right on with the advice that he was given and shared with you.
    Always full length size for any semi-auto, and it's probably best to also do that for any ammo you intend to fire in a lever action, pump, or single shot.
    Bolt actions are unique in how they give so much leverage when closing, which is why neck sizing is preferable for brass fired in a specific rifle.