• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gm652

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 25, 2012
    Seymour
    Just purchased a 9mm open gun set up to run 125 PF. Can I get some input on what slow burning powder would make compensator work the best? I will use a FMJ 115gr bullet.

Snizz1911

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 8, 2013
    I'm by no means an open expert and never shot open, just powder puff minor pf for production.

You can make 125 pf (minor) with about any pistol powder, at least from all the variations I've used, that's easy. But I'm curious why your shooting open and only striving to make minor? What gun are you shooting? I would think for the comp to really do its job you'd want to be pushing the projectile pretty quick, again no open expert.

CB45 would be the guy to talk to.

trophyhunter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Sep 2, 2008
    South Bend
    OP, what open class gun are you trying to get a minor load worked up for? Piece of cake to reverse engineer a minor 125 power factor using 115's you need them to run @ a minimum of 1087 fps plus a little wiggle room for temperature and seating deviations. With powder shortages being this bad, whatever you already have 8 plus pounds of would be the way to go don't you think?

Open class 9mm pistol loads for major are another story, I have plenty of my own load data for that but I won't post loads in that range here. PM me if that's what your really looking to do with an open class piece so long as your an experienced handloader and not new and just getting started in the open game I'll share some of that with you.

gm652

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 25, 2012
    Seymour
    Thanks trophyhunter,

I have a pound of win autocomp onhand that I use to load standard .45. I have a pound of titegroup on order.