• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • steveh_131

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    Porter County
    Hey guys, I'm looking for some advice on the best way to go about refinishing my deck.

Here is a picture of its current state:

20160131_124858.jpg

We've been here about 2 years. The previous owner painted it with what appears to be interior paint. It began flaking immediately.

My goal is to make it look decent with a small budget (we are in full debt reduction mode at the moment). I would like it stained and sealed when it is all said and done. Re-decking it is outside our budget for now, unfortunately.

The boards all have deep grooves in them but are still solid and not rotten, as far as I can tell.

I have sanders, planer, table saw, circular saw, mitre saw, jig saw, etc. I have zero experience building decks but am handy and can probably learn how to do whatever may be necessary.

The decking is all 2x4 lumber, for whatever reason. These are the options I've been considering:

1. Power-wash the paint off, punch the nails in deeper, and rent a big sander to sand the entire surface smooth - then stain. But will that get rid of those deep grooves?
    2. Pull each board and maybe flip it over to see what the underside looks like.
    3. Pull each board and run it through a planer.
    4. Pull each board and try to shave a fraction of an inch with a table saw.

If any of these ideas seem foolish, please feel free to say so. Or if they just won't work right with the tools I have available. I'm not sure how the warpage of the wood and other factors will affect my ability to plane it or whatever.

Thanks in advance for any input you guys can offer!

Dirtebiker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    49   0   0
    Feb 13, 2011
    Greenwood
    If the framing is good, consider just replacing the 2x4's ( unless they're cedar) with treated deck boards.
    wait a year, then wash and seal.

steveh_131