• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dw357

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2008
    I'm sure there are countless posts about the 10/22s, but... I bought the standard birch and blued model with a bushnell 3x9 scope and a 3 pound trigger job for 200 bucks. Was this a good deal? I've always wanted a ruger because of all the options for it. Not got the chance to shoot it yet but I was wondering if it is worth the money to put a bull barrel on it. If it is any suggestions for as cheap as I can go? I'm definatly going to get a new stock becuase the carbine one is just too short for me, but I dont want to buy one for the standard barrel if the bull barrel is the better way to go in the end. Thanks.

Simon6101

Master
    Rating - 100%
    155   0   0
    May 3, 2008
    Sw Indy(Camby)
    Hello

Thanks for the vote of confidence. I am no expert but I do own a few and do make some mods to mine.
    Ok it is always a good deal if you think it is. That being said go to the Ruger website and you can look up the serial number to see when it was produced. Anything made before 2008 will have a metal trigger group and is a little more desireable to some folks because some of the aftermarket parts fit a lot easier and it can be polished or painted,
    If you are going to use the gun for strictly target shooting then a bull barrel will fill your needs. If you are going to use it for hunting then unless you want you buy a carbon barrel I would stick with the standard barrel. Carbon barrels are a little pricey.
    I always replace the bolt stop pin with a urethane bolt buffer. It will quiet down the bolt and stop the vibration from the gun from affecting your scope.
    I also install an extended mag release and an auto bolt release.