• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Nate360

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 3, 2011
    Hey everyone. I recently moved to Indiana (Bloomington) and quickly found that there are no ranges in Monroe county. Today I drove down to the Hoosier National Forest with my son and we fired off about 500 - 600 rounds of .45 ACP, 380 Auto, .32 Auto, 38 Special & .357 Mag. It was a great place and only about 30 minutes from where I live.

In addition to saying hello, I have a quetion for any of you that use Hornady Critical Defense ammo. Before packing up today, I decided to fire off 5 of the .357 critical defense rounds I've been carying for the last 9 months and the very first one was a failure to ignite. Needless to say this is very disapointing. Not one of the previous 150+ reloaded rounds I ran through this gun (S&W 360PD) failed. The strike was plenty deep and I attempted 4 - 5 additional strikes with no success. I've emailed Hornady and am awaiting a response but was curious if any of you have had this happen. Also interested in what you carry in not useing HCD.

Thanks,

Nate360

mkbar80

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 3, 2008
    I've heard stories before of rounds that are chambered over and over can have their primer deteriorate. I've often heard this with semi autos and ar's though.

???

indy1919a4

Master
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    I've heard stories before of rounds that are chambered over and over can have their primer deteriorate. I've often heard this with semi autos and ar's though.

???

a quick question, can you explain how chambering a round alot will deteriorate a primer?>??????? :dunno:

walker

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2010
    Terre Haute