New to shotguns and hunting....what do I get?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • zombiehunter

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 16, 2008
    New Castle, IN
    Ok, I'm completely new to shotguns and hunting (and I know NOBODY personally that hunts or owns a shotgun).

I am currently looking at this: Gander Mountain® > Remington 12 Ga w/26 Barrel/Modified Rem Choke Black Synthetic Stock - Firearms > Shotguns > Pump Action : (not necessarily from Gander, but that is the gun I'm looking at)

Now, I see it says it has a modified rem choke....is that choke good for bird shot, buck shot, and slugs?

Basically I will be using this for home defense, paper targets/clay shooting, and hunting (turkey, deer, squirrel, etc.)

I don't want to get the more expensive version with 2 barrels and would rather stick to this gun, but do I need a different choke for slugs? Is that choke even removable?

Like I said, I'm new to all of this! (grew up in an anti-gun family) I've tried doing research, but nothing seems to fit exactly the questions I have!

zombiehunter

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 16, 2008
    New Castle, IN
    It's amazing how many different opinions you'll find on different sites! One site, everyone will say no, that you have to have a dedicated rifled barrel or an open choke...other sites say that you can shoot slugs through any choke as long as they aren't sabot! Some swear that if you shoot a slug with a mod. choke that you'll blow the choke up or barrel up.