• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Tom Threetoes

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 14, 2010
    Southwestern IN
    I have wanted a 1911 for some time and today someone offered me what I'm hoping is a good buy on my dream gun. Being a newbie, I need to know if it's as good a deal as I think. It's a used but very nice stainless SA loaded target with hard case, two mags, and plastic goodies for $900. The only flaws I can find is an idiot scratch on the frame from the slide release and the guide rod allen screw is a little boogered. I'll go GI and do away with the full-length rod so that's not a big deal. I didn't take it apart and I wouldn't know what to look for any way. I'm hoping the idiot scratch will polish out. Is there anything else I should check? What say you experts is this a deal or no?

88E30M50

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Dec 29, 2008
    Greenwood, IN
    A quick check of gb shows a handful of Springer Loaded model 1911s all going for more than $900. None of those are stainless. Stainless tends to bring more money.

The idiot scratch is not too big a deal on a stainless gun. It's a very forgiving material to make a gun out of

drillsgt

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    108   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Sioux Falls, SD