Newbie to Competitive shooting - Please help!

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SHEEPdOHdoubleG

Plinker
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 20, 2011
    East Central Indiana
    I have been shooting for about 2 years now and I feel like (and have heard from guys who have been shooting for much longer) I am a pretty good shot (with a pistol especially). I was just wondering if someone could help me with a few questions I have:

1. What should I do to get into competitive shooting? (I literally have no clue)
    2. Are there different types/leagues/divisions etc?
    3. Who should I contact?
    4. Anything else a newbie should know about shooting competitively feel free to add.

Thanks.

Coach

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Coatesville
    There is a USPSA match this Sunday at the Atlanta Conservation Club. Read up on the gear and rules a little and show up. www.uspsa.org and there is a sticky for competition at the top of the shooting sports section of this website. You can be on my squad Sunday and we will show you the ropes.

SHEEPdOHdoubleG

Plinker
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 20, 2011
    East Central Indiana
    I live in Muncie. I would be shooting a springfield XD 45 service model. I have a ported efk fire dragon barrel and it has a 3.5 lb trigger (I am telling you this because in that sticky post it said something about mods having to be in another division??? I think??)