• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hammer

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 24, 2009
    On the lake
    If a person has a SBR for HD which was done on an individual form.

Can/should a family member use the SBR in a HD situation without too many legal issues if the stamp holder is not present?

Dobber

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 7, 2012
    Granger (South Bend)
    If a person has a SBR for HD which was done on an individual form.

Can/should a family member use the SBR in a HD situation without too many legal issues if the stamp holder is not present?

I am not a lawyer. I would say NO. If the person firing the weapon is successful in wounding an intruder AND is not a stamp holder AND the stamp holder is found to NOT be present for the event I would contend that the shooter, by lodging a bullet in the intruder, introduces evidence pointing to possession of the weapon and thus can be charged criminally. BUT I'd rather fight that point in court than watch my wake from above.

-Dobber

Faine

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 2, 2012
    Indy (South Side)
    I've been curious about the true legality of a spouse having access to or being in posession of a NFA regulated item in the absence of the stamp holder. The issue that comes to mind is that one could legally and logically contend that as a SPOUSE in the US and in most states a married couple is considered a single entity. I'm not saying I want to be the poster boy for this but I'm really curious as to how it would stand up in court given the duality presented by the government on the issue. I know a trust fixes this but that's beyond the scope of the OP's request and my statement.

To the OP, I would say unless you want to be the poster child for this in court, lock it up and keep it locked up, get other things set up for home defense and use your NFA items as a last resort.

ShootinIron

Plinker
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%