• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PaulOctane

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 31, 2013
    NWI
    Hi everyone, I've been working on my first AR build over the past few months and I am currently trying to decide on whether to go with a NiB coated bolt, or a hard chrome bolt. I currently have a ToolCraft bolt carrier that is chrome lined. From what I've been reading online, people tend to be leaning more towards the NiB parts, as seen in this AR15.com thread, as well as this other one.

The specific bolts I am trying to choose between are both from Brownells: the Smith Enterprises Bolt, and the WMD Guns NiB-X Bolt.

Thanks in advance!

Double T

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   1
    Aug 5, 2011
    Huntington
    I have a chromed Young Mfg BCG and it is suuuuuper easy to clean. Just a cloth damp with some CLP and the carbon comes right off. I have zero experience with NiB, but I imagine it'd be pretty similar. The choice would be determined by your cleaning agent the most though :)

Small's

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 16, 2012
    south of Indy
    Ive considered one but from what ive read they are easier to clean and are a little smoother but both need lubed. Do they last longer? and is it worth the extra $50+ dollars? Some say its not worth the extra $

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    I had the WMD Nibo BCG on my AR. Not sure how much better it is on the AR, but as a coating I like it better than chrome. NiBo offers more lubricity and I think it is less prone to flaking, not that a chrome BCG would do that. Plus it looks cooler!

Watch for sales. I paid $192 total for mine when I bought it. I don't think it was much more than a standard BCG at the time.

PaulOctane

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 31, 2013
    NWI
    Thanks for the input, everyone!