• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lakeman62

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 16, 2012
    Syracuse area
    I have found a pistol on Armslist that I want to purchase, I'm new at this type of purchase and the seller is a good ways away from my location. any advise on the best way to complete this transaction so I don't get scammed:dunno:? Thanks

DanVoils

Master
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    Feb 20, 2010
    Contact your LGS and see what they charge and the procedure. Since it's out of state it has to go through an FFL. They should already have a procedure in place.

Manatee

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 18, 2011
    Indiana
    No buyer is going to go for that. There are escrow services available if you look around the net.

The real question is: are you saving enough by buying off of Armslist to justify not looking locally? If the deal is too good to be true, you're probably getting scammed.

It only takes one bad transaction to ruin your day.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    So you are saying to wait until it is received at my FFL before sending funds?

If the shipper would agree to that, then yes.

Allow the shipper to choose an FFL in your area. Then YOU verify that it's a real-deal FFL and not "just a buddy in on it".

When you're all kosher on the FFL - then move forward.

When you get to the FFL - inspect the firearm. Then you can go ahead and do the money shipment/transfer/etc. The FFL may also be able to act as a "witness" on the shipper's behalf. A speaker-phone phone call to the shipper between you, FFL, and shipper can help. Smart phones being able to transfer funds or do a PayPal transaction would be a HUGE plus.

The transfer fee would probably be higher in this instance if all parties agree to it. It would indeed be a bit more work on the part of the FFL to act as a deal-broker.