• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Reel Man

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 8, 2010
    I am new at this posting stuff so if I make a mistake someone set me straight (please). The question I have is, I have been reading about open carry in Indiana. I thought Indiana didn’t have open carry. Would someone explain to me about this. :patriot:
    Thanks Reel Man.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Yep, Indiana does not specify the method of carry. Open or concealed is up to you. Your License to Carry Handgun (LTCH) is all you need.

There are a few debate threads about the pros and cons of each on here.

Hoosierdood

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Nov 2, 2010
    North of you
    Indiana's LTCH is a "License To Carry Handgun". There is no stipulation to how you carry it. You can wear it on a lanyard around your neck, in a holster on your belt, strapped to your thigh, or you can squeeze it between your butt cheeks.

In some other states, the license only allows you to carry concealed (Like Michigan's "Concealed Pistols License".

There are many arguments for and against openly carrying, but in the end, it is up to you how you feel comfortable carrying.

ETA:
    There is a FAQ at the top of the page, good info there.

INGO has a FAQ???

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    Pros: You will be super cool.
    Cons: None that immediatly come to mind. <looks over at ATFConsumer.. then looks back quickly.>

clgustaveson

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 21, 2010
    I am new at this posting stuff so if I make a mistake someone set me straight (please). The question I have is, I have been reading about open carry in Indiana. I thought Indiana didn’t have open carry. Would someone explain to me about this. :patriot:
    Thanks Reel Man.