• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • illini40

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2010
    Hello all,

I am a rifle newbie and hug caught the bug of wanting one.

I need some help in decided between .270, .30-06, or .308. Thoughts?

The gun will not see much use. Possibly some deer hunting and some paper. Any hunting would be in IN or KY. In my opinion, any three of these would be plenty big enough. I like the idea of these three calibers being pretty affordable to shot.

Let me know what you think!

Last edited:

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    I am a huge fan of savage, I would look at the Axis line. Savage is probably the best out of the box shooting rifle you will fine, especially on a working man's budget.

Savage Arms > Firearms > Browse Models

axis.png

mkgr22

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 5, 2010
    Starlight, IN
    Hello all,

I am a rifle newbie and hug caught the bug of wanting one.

I need some help in decided between .270, .30-06, or .308. Thoughts?

The gun will not see much use. Possibly some deer hunting and some paper. Any hunting would be in IN, IL, or KY. In my opinion, any three of these would be plenty big enough. I like the idea of these three calibers being pretty affordable to shot.

Let me know what you think!

You cannot hunt deer in Indiana with any of the three cartridges you listed. Kentucky, they are legal for deer, Illinois I don't know.

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    of the calibers you listed i would go 308. hunt most anything in north america just not in indiana. the only listed state you can hunt deer with them is ky.